Applying for the 2018 – 2019 Season

Applicants should start by studying the season schedule at the bottom of this page.

Our Consort program singers are expected to be at all rehearsals and concerts (exceptional absences can be granted, but must be negotiated well in advance with the TCC’s artistic director). However, applicants with potential conflicts with the schedule are still encouraged to apply. In past years we have often shared each position between two singers, which allows for more flexibility in accommodating scheduling conflicts.

Application Process

The deadline for all materials to be received is Friday, June 15, 2018.

Selected finalists will be asked to do a 20-minute audition/interview on the evening of Wednesday, June 20.  (Please advise us if this date absolutely cannot work for you – we’ll see what we can do!)

This audition is about your musicianship and leadership skills, so you won’t be asked to sing an aria (and you won’t need an accompanist). You’ll be given a short sight-reading and musicianship test and then be asked to lead a short (8-10 min.) sectional rehearsal.  This sectional will be with a few singers from the choir on a short piece of choral music emailed to you a couple of days before the audition.

Please send all materials by email (info@torontochamberchoir.ca) using the subject line CONSORT APPLICATION.

Please provide the following materials in the same email message:

  • A current CV
  • An example of your singing, preferably in Renaissance or Baroque repertoire.  Please include an internet link or attach an audio or video file to the message.
  • A letter of introduction. This can simply be in the body of your email message. Please try to include all the information listed here:
✔ The section position you are applying for (SATB)
✔ Describe your experiences singing early music.  Include any training you’ve had in historical performance and/or performing experience with early music ensembles.
✔ Describe any section-lead work you’ve done or other leadership responsibilities you’ve been given in any ensembles you’ve worked with.
✔ Mention briefly any special skills you have to offer the TCC.
✔ Discuss any potential conflicts with this season’s TCC rehearsal schedule that you know of at this time (please see the schedule below).
✔ One or two references with a phone number and/or an email address.  These should be conductors, coaches, or teachers you’ve recently worked with.

 


TCC 2018-2019 schedule, subject to change

  • Please note that on Wednesday nights the time from 7:00-7:30 pm is “Consort time.” Consort singers might or might not be called to rehearse solos and one-to-a-part ensembles. A decision about who is needed for Consort time is usually made from week to week depending on the project’s repertoire and other factors.
  • Note that “Retreats” are special Saturday daytime rehearsal/workshops which include the Consort singers.

Program #1: A Half-Century of the TCC

No new section leads needed


Program #2 (Kaffeemusik): The Bremen Town Musicians (and other tales of musical camaraderie)

Elizabeth Anderson, guest conductor

1: Wednesday, October 3: 7:30-10:00 pm

2: Wednesday, October 10: 7:30-10:00 pm

3: Wednesday, October 17: 7:30-10:00 pm

4: Wednesday, October 24: 7:30-10:00 pm

5: Wednesday, October 31: 7:30-10:00 pm: SECTIONALS (Rescheduled for Halloween)

6: Wednesday, November 7: 7:30-10:00 pm

7: Wednesday, November 14: 7:30-10:00 pm

8. Wednesday, November 21: 7:30-10:00 pm

9: Saturday, November 24: 10:00 am-1:00 pm DRESS REHEARSAL

Concert: Sunday, November 25: 1:00 pm warmup, 3:00 pm concert


Toronto Consort Praetorius Vespers

David Fallis, conductor
Elizabeth Anderson, choirmaster

No section leads required


Program #3: Convivencia: Music Across Three Faiths

1: Wednesday, January 9: 7:30-10:00 pm

2: Wednesday, January 16: 7:30-10:00 pm

3: Wednesday, January 23: 7:30-10:00 pm

4: Wednesday, January 30: 7:30-10:00 pm

5: Wednesday, February 6: 7:30-10:00 pm SECTIONALS

6. Wednesday, February 13: 7:30-10:00 pm

7: Wednesday, February 20: 7:30-10:00 pm

8. Saturday, February 23: 10:30 am-1:30 pm MINI-RETREAT

9: Wednesday, February 27: 7:00-10:00 pm Rehearsal with guest musicians

10: Friday, March 1: 7:00 pm -10:00 pm @ Grace Church DRESS REHEARSAL

Concert: Saturday, March 2: 6:00 pm warmup, 8:00 pm concert


Program #4 (Kaffeemusik): A Voice of Her Own

1: Wednesday, March 6: 7:30-10:00 pm

2: Wednesday, March 13: 7:30-10:00 pm

3: Wednesday, March 20: 7:30-10:00 pm

4: Wednesday, March 27: 7:30-10:00 pm

5: Wednesday, April 3: 7:30-10:00 pm

6: Wednesday, April 10: 7:30-10:00 pm

7: Wednesday, April 17: 7:30-10:00 pm (Easter week rehearsal reinstated)

Wednesday, April 24: CONSORT FUNDRAISER, Heliconian Hall

8: Wednesday, May 1: 7:30-10:00 pm

9: Wednesday, May 8: 7:00-10:00 pm Recording session #1

Extra session with Consort singers + organ from 3:30-5:30pm]

Saturday, May 11: 10:30 am -5:30 pm Recording Session #2 (RETREAT)

10: Wednesday, May 15: 7:30-10:00 pm

11: Wednesday, May 22: 7:00-10:00 pm Recording Session #3

12: Saturday, May 25: 10:00 am -1:00 pm @ Redeemer DRESS REHEARSAL

Concert: Saturday, May 26: 1:00 pm warmup, 3:00 pm concert